User Guide

A sound empirical analysis based on HFCS data needs to take into account the survey′s design features (such as sampling design and sample household weights). The HFCS in Austria was conducted in line with state-of-the-art methodology to ensure the highest possible data quality for scientific analysis.

The User Guide provided by the OeNB is meant to facilitate the first steps with the HFCS data and to enable researchers to use the data effectively from the start. The User Guide was developed in Stata© and includes information on how to prepare the data provided by the ECB for estimations, how to take the multiple imputations and the survey design of the HFCS into account, and gives simple examples for estimations based on the data.

For more detailed information about the User Guide for the first wave of the HFCS in Austria, see chapter 9 of the Methodological Notes for Austria. For the do-file, see the online appendix to this publication.

User Guide

Für eine korrekte Auswertung der Informationen des HFCS müssen die Aspekte des Survey Designs (wie zum Beispiel Stichprobenziehung und darauf basierende Haushaltsgewichte) einbezogen werden. Höchste wissenschaftliche Standards wurden bei der Durchführung des HFCS in Österreich angewandt, um die bestmögliche Datengrundlage für Analysen zu schaffen.

Um den ForscherInnen den Einstieg in die Arbeit mit den Informationen des HFCS zu erleichtern und einen effizienten Start zu ermöglichen, wird ein User Guide mit den ersten Schritten zur Verfügung gestellt. Erstellt in der Software Stata© umfasst der User Guide die Aufbereitung der von der EZB veröffentlichten Datensätze, die Verwendung der multiplen Imputationen und des Survey Designs sowie einfache Auswertungsbeispiele.

Detaillierte Informationen zum User Guide der zweiten Welle des HFCS in Österreich sind im Kapitel 9 der Methodischen Grundlagen für Österreich  veröffentlicht. Das Do-File wird im Online-Anhang zu dieser Publikation bereitgestellt.