Imputation

Imputations are used to proxy data points that are missing in the survey data as a result of item nonresponse. For instance, respondents will not always share information about their income and wealth. The problem of missing data can be addressed in two ways: Either one ignores the problem and evaluates only the answers of those households that completed the questionnaire, or one replaces the missing observations with imputed data.

Ignoring the problem leads to a bias in the estimations, as the observations missing for individual respondents do not adhere to a random pattern. For example, international evidence shows that more affluent households are more likely to refuse to answer questions on wealth than people who are not that well off (see e.g.Barceló, 2006). If we do not adjust the results for item nonresponse, they will not be representative. The average wealth of households will be underestimated because of the underrepresentation of more affluent households. Therefore, we imputed missing observations for the HFCS using an imputation procedure called multivariate imputation by chained equations.

Imputation means that missing data will be replaced with forecast data. The forecasts are based on regression models. To give an example, we can use the outstanding loans of households with a comparable degree of educational attainment, age, income and housing conditions to estimate the size of loans which remained unspecified. To identify the characteristics that are adequate for estimating missing data, we relied on a range of statistical criteria.

For detailed information on the imputation procedure used for the first wave of the HFCS in Austria, see chapter 5 of the Methodological Notes on the HFCS 2010 for Austria.

Imputation

Durch Antwortverweigerungen von Haushalten entstehen missings (Lücken) in den Erhebungsdaten. Insbesondere Fragen zu Einkommen und Vermögen werden manchmal nicht beantwortet. Für die Auswertung ergeben sich in Folge zwei Möglichkeiten: Entweder wird das Problem ignoriert und die Auswertung wird nur für jene Haushalte durchgeführt, die den Fragebogen vollständig beantwortet haben, oder die missings werden durch imputierte Werte ersetzt.

Die erste Variante verzerrt die Ergebnisse, da die fehlenden Antworten nicht zufällig über die Respondenten der Stichprobe verteilt sind. So belegt die internationale Forschung, dass vermögende Haushalte eher Antworten zu Vermögensfragen verweigern, als ärmere Menschen (siehe z. B. Barceló, 2006). Werden die Auswertungen ohne jene der Haushalte mit Antwortverweigerungen herangezogen, dann sind die Ergebnisse nicht repräsentativ für die Gesamtheit der an der Umfrage teilnehmenden Haushalte. Das errechnete durchschnittliche Vermögen wird zu niedrig sein, da vermögende Haushalte nicht hinreichend berücksichtigt sind. In der HFCS-Erhebung werden fehlende Antworten daher imputiert. Das verwendete Imputationsverfahren heißt "Multivariate Imputation by Chained Equations".

Hierbei werden missings durch prognostizierte Werte ersetzt. Die Schätzungen erfolgen auf Basis von Regressionsmodellen. Zum Beispiel kann die Höhe eines Kredits von einem Haushalt, der die Antwort hierzu verweigert hat, anhand der Kredithöhen von Haushalten geschätzt, die u. a. ein ähnliches Bildungsniveau, Alter, Einkommen und Wohnbedingungen haben. Welche solcher Charakteristika zur Schätzung geeignet sind, wird anhand diverser Kriterien statistisch evaluiert.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Thema Imputation in der ersten Welle des HFCS in Österreich sind im Kapitel 5 der Methodischen Grundlagen für Österreich veröffentlicht.