Event Catalogue

Workshop “Using Microdata for Macroprudential Policy – Data, Methods, Applications”
Analyzing risks arising from financial instabilities is essential for central banks but is complicated by the limited suitability of aggregated data for this purpose. The microdata underlying corresponding aggregates often lack sufficient quality, as they are gathered for purposes other than microanalyses, are derived from a large number of sources and based on a wide range of data-gathering techniques and formats, or they simply fail to provide the right information.

Conference on “Wealth Inequality: Theory and Empirical Data”
On June 20, 2013, the Austrian HFCS project team hosted a conference entitled “Wealth Inequality: Theory and Empirical Data” at the OeNB. Below, we can provide videotapes of the project manager’s introductory statement and the presentations made by Heinz D. Kurz (Professor, University of Graz) and Arthur B. Kennickell (Assistant Director, Federal Reserve Board).

Technical Workshop
On February 25 and 26, 2013, the OeNB hosted two one-day workshops on the HFCS for the Austrian research community. The purpose of the workshop was to provide background information on the survey and its methodology in the questionnaire, the complex sampling design and the field period as well as questions of weighting, multiple imputation and variance estimation. Furthermore, participants were guided through the initial steps of working with the data, using Stata©software based on a small test dataset. The workshop material is available for download below (available in German only).

Veranstaltungskatalog

Workshop “Using Microdata for Macroprudential Policy – Data, Methods, Applications”
Die Analyse von Finanzmarktrisiken ist für Zentralbanken unerlässlich und liefert wichtige Erkenntnisse. Sie gestaltet sich allerdings schwierig, weil die verfügbaren aggregierten Daten nur eingeschränkt für diesen Zweck geeignet sind. Die zugrunde liegenden Mikrodaten sind oftmals von unzureichender Qualität; schließlich werden sie nicht explizit für eine Mikroanalyse erhoben, stammen nicht aus einer homogenen Quelle und basieren nicht auf einheitlichen Erhebungsmethoden bzw. entspricht ihr Informationsgehalt nicht den gegebenen Erfordernissen.

Veranstaltung zu “Wealth Inequality: Theory and Empirical Data”
Am 20. Juni 2013 organisierte das Projektteam des HFCS Austria an der Oesterreichischen Nationalbank eine Veranstaltung zum Thema “Wealth Inequality: Theory and Empirical Data”. Die Einführung durch den Projektleiter und die Vorträge von Heinz D. Kurz (Professor an der Universität Graz) und Arthur B. Kennickell (Assistant Director, Federal Reserve Board) stehen als Videos zur Verfügung.

Technischer Workshop
Für die österreichische Forschungscommunity wurde am 25. und 26. Februar 2013 ein jeweils eintägiger technischer Workshop zum HFCS durchgeführt. Hierbei stellte das HFCS-Team der OeNB die Grundlagen und verwendeten Methoden in Bezug auf den Fragebogen, das komplexe Survey Design, die Feldphase, die Erstellung der Gewichte, die multiplen Imputationen und die Varianzschätzung dieser Erhebung vor. Darüber hinaus wurde die praktische Umsetzung der ersten Auswertungsschritte anhand der Software Stata© mit einem kleinen Testdatensatz erarbeitet. Zu jedem Teil dieser Veranstaltung können nun auch die Präsentationsunterlagen abgerufen werden.