FAQ

This part of the website provides answers to frequently asked questions concerning the HFCS.

The ECB also provides answers to Frequently Asked Questions on its website.

How were the households selected for the survey?

  • The households participating in the HFCS were randomly selected. Every household in Austria had a positive probability of being drawn for the sample. Sampling was carried out applying a scientific statistical method. The addresses of privately used dwellings were selected from mailing address registers maintained by Austrian Post AG (“Adress.Certified” and “data.door”). Geographical categories of households were created (stratified two-stage sample design) to ensure that households in each Austrian province took part in the survey. A total of 4,436 households were drawn for the sample. Participation in the survey was voluntary, and a great effort was made to convince households to take part. Eventually, 2,380 households participated in the survey, providing information on a wide range of sensitive and complex issues.

Why is the HFCS representative?

  • Representativeness is not, strictly speaking, a statistical concept. However, the term is generally used to express that the analysis of data from a sample can be expected to yield the same results as the analysis of the target population.

    The sample design (based on privately used postal addresses) used in the HFCS ensures that all households in Austria have a positive probability of participating in the survey. Stratification is a cost-efficient way to capture different households as accurately as possible. Distortions in sampling caused by complete or partial nonresponse were corrected using state-of-the-art scientific methods. Therefore, the representativeness of the HFCS can be considered to be relatively high. Full representativeness in all dimensions of the survey is an unattainable goal. However, the methods used allow correct variances of each estimator to be calculated; these variances, in turn, make it possible to assess the degree of uncertainty attached to the estimations.

Did the respondents in the HFCS provide correct amounts?

  • Face-to-face interviewing in the HFCS allowed respondents to provide informed answers; they were able to ask interviewers for clarification and to consult records, documents and contracts if necessary. Automated consistency checks made it possible to review answers even during the interview. Thorough training and preparation of interviewers ensured that the latter interacted with respondents on a high professional level and helped errors to be detected early on. In addition, expert evaluations were carried out to identify potential errors after the interviews and to conduct follow-up investigations, including contacting households again, if necessary.

How were errors by interviewers prevented or corrected?

  • All interviewers of the HFCS in Austria were experienced and, additionally, received intense training in the run-up to the survey. Routine checks of both interviewers and households were carried out after each interview. Furthermore, random checks in which households were contacted by telephone to review their interviews were made. Each interviewer’s performance was evaluated on the basis of a set of criteria; weaknesses were pointed out, and if severe transgressions were identified, the interviewer was dismissed. If an interviewer was excluded from the survey, the households that had already been interviewed by this interviewer were contacted again. In addition, experts reviewed all household data collected. Potential problems were identified and followed up, i.e. the households concerned were contacted again and the information compiled was reviewed. In those few cases in which it was impossible to correct an error, the data of the respective households were not used. All these mechanisms ensure that data from interviews that were not conducted correctly did not enter the HFCS dataset.

What are multiple imputations?

  • Imputations fill missing data. If the right methods are applied (like in the HFCS), the associations between all variables in the dataset are preserved. Multiple imputations also capture the uncertainty attached to imputed values. If no imputations were carried out, the survey results would be biased, as the group of households refusing to answer a specific question is not purely random. Imputation is an internationally scientifically recognized approach that has been used in numerous international surveys. Imputation models similar to those used in the HFCS in Austria have been applied to comparable datasets compiled by the Banco de España (in the EFF) or the Federal Reserve System (in the SCF).

Why is the HFCS in Austria different from other surveys?

  • Other major national surveys include, for instance, EU-SILC (Statistics on Income and Living Conditions), Statistics Austria’s Household Budget Survey and Micro census, and SHARE (Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe), the Austrian part of which is coordinated by Johannes Kepler University Linz in collaboration with the Austrian Academy of Sciences. All these surveys have different objectives.

    The HFCS aims at capturing households’ entire balance sheets, covering both flows (such as income and consumption) and stocks (such as debt and wealth). No other survey in Austria has this specific focus. While EU-SILC captures different types of income, it does not take into account debt and wealth. The SHARE project, in turn, covers only older age groups, as opposed to the HFCS, which covers all households in Austria. The information compiled in the HFCS makes it possible for the first time to analyze households’ complete balance sheets and net wealth.

FAQ

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zum HFCS in Österreich.

Die EZB gibt ebenfalls Antworten auf Frequently Asked Questions (nur auf Englisch verfügbar).

Warum kamen gerade diese Haushalte in die HFC-Erhebung?

  • Die befragten Haushalte der HFCS Erhebung wurden zufällig ausgewählt. Jeder Haushalt in Österreich hatte die Möglichkeit gezogen zu werden. Die Stichprobe des HFCS basiert auf einer wissenschaftlichen statistischen Methode. Auf Basis von Daten eines privaten Adressverzeichnis („Adress.Certified“ und „data.door“ der Post AG) wurden privat genutzte Wohneinheiten ausgewählt. Die Haushalte wurden nach geographischen Einheiten kategorisiert (stratifiziertes 2-stufiges Stichprobendesign). Somit war gewährleistet, dass in jedem Bundesland Haushalte befragt wurden. Es wurden 6.308 Haushalte gezogen, die für eine Befragung vorgesehen waren. Die Teilnahme an der HFCS-Erhebung war jedoch freiwillig. Es wurde konsequent versucht, jeden dieser Haushalte für die Teilnahme zu gewinnen. Letztlich nahmen 2.997 Haushalte an dieser inhaltlich sensitiven und thematisch komplexen Erhebung teil.

Warum ist die HFC-Erhebung „repräsentativ“?

  • Repräsentativität ist eigentlich kein formaler statistischer Begriff, wird aber im Allgemeinen verwendet um zu beschreiben, dass eine Analyse der Daten aus einer Teilerhebung erwartungsgemäß zu denselben Ergebnissen führt wie eine Untersuchung der Grundgesamtheit.

    Durch das gewählte Stichprobendesign (auf Basis privat genutzter Briefkästen) wird im HFCS sichergestellt, dass alle Haushalte in Österreich eine positive Wahrscheinlichkeit haben an der Erhebung teilzunehmen. Die Stratifizierung gewährleistet eine möglichst genaue aber zugleich auch kosteneffiziente Erfassung unterschiedlicher Haushalte. Mögliche im Erhebungsprozess entstehende Verzerrungen aufgrund von kompletten bzw. partiellen Antwortausfall einzelner Haushalte wurden im HFCS in Österreich auf Basis modernster wissenschaftlicher Methoden korrigiert. Dadurch kann von einem relativ hohen Grad an „Repräsentativität“ dieser Erhebung ausgegangen werden. Eine vollständige „Repräsentativität“ in allen Dimensionen einer Erhebung bleibt allerdings unerreichbar. Die verwendeten Methoden erlauben es aber zu jedem Schätzer auch eine korrekte Varianzschätzung durchzuführen, die eine Einschätzung der mit den Schätzungen verbundenen Unsicherheit zulässt.

Gaben die Befragten im HFCS richtige Wertangaben?

  • Persönliche Interviews erlaubten eine informierte Beantwortung, denn die Befragten konnten beim Interviewer/Interviewerin nachfragen, und Unterlagen, Dokumente und Verträge heranziehen. Programmierte Konsistenzchecks ließen eine Überprüfung der Angaben noch während des Interviews zu. Intensive Schulungen erhöhten die Professionalität der InterviewerInnen im Umgang mit den Befragten und trugen zu einer raschen Fehlererkennung bei. Zusätzlich wurden expertenbasierte Evaluierungen durchgeführt um mögliche Fehler nachträglich zu identifizieren und gegebenenfalls Nachrecherchen beim Haushalt und durchzuführen.

Wie wurden Fehler von Interviewern korrigiert?

  • Im HFCS in Österreich wurden alle InterviewerInnen in ganztägigen Schulungen auf die Erhebung vorbereitet. Die InterviewerInnen waren erfahrene MitarbeiterInnen. Nach den Interviews wurden alle InterviewerInnen, sowie jeder einzelne Haushalt Routinekontrollen unterzogen. Haushalte wurden stichprobenartig telefonisch kontaktiert und das Interview wurde geprüft. Alle Interviewer wurden einzeln nach Performancekriterien analysiert und gegebenenfalls auf Schwächen hingewiesen oder bei groben Vergehen ausgeschlossen. Wurde eine/ein InterviewerIn ausgeschlossen, wurden die schon bearbeiteten Haushalte nochmals kontaktiert. Zusätzlich wurden alle Haushaltsdaten von Experten kontrolliert. Bei Problemen wurden auch hier neuerlich die Haushalte kontaktiert und die erhobenen Information geprüft. Sollte eine Korrektur in Ausnahmefällen unmöglich sein, wurden die Daten dieser Haushalte nicht verwendet. Aufgrund der verwendeten Mechanismen können somit „gefälschte“ Interviews in den HFCS-Datensätzen ausgeschlossen werden.

Was sind multiple Imputationen?

  • Imputationen fügen fehlende Daten ein. Werden entsprechende Methoden (wie auch im HFCS) verwendet, bleiben die bestehenden Zusammenhänge zwischen den Variablen im Datensatz dabei erhalten. Multiple Imputationen reflektieren zudem die Unsicherheit der imputierten Werte. Würde man nicht imputieren, wären die Ergebnisse verzerrt, da sich die Teilpopulation der Haushalte, die eine bestimmte Antwort verweigert, nicht rein zufällig zusammensetzt. Imputationen sind eine international wissenschaftlich anerkannte Vorgehensweise und werden bei zahlreichen internationalen Erhebungen angewendet. In vergleichbaren Datensätzen, wie jenen der Banco des España (EFF) oder der Federal Reserver (SCF) werden ähnliche Imputationsmodelle verwendet wie im HFCS Österreich.

Wie unterscheidet sich die HFC-Erhebung in Österreich von anderen Erhebungen?

  • Zu den größten nationalen Erhebungen zählen die EU-SILC-Erhebung, die Konsumerhebung, der Mikrozensus (von Statistik Austria) und SHARE (von der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz / Akademie der Wissenschaften). Alle diese Erhebungen haben unterschiedliche Ausrichtungen.

    Die HFCS-Erhebung hat zum Ziel, die komplette Haushaltsbilanz der Haushalte abzubilden, in der sowohl Flussgrößen (wie Einkommen und Konsum) als auch Bestandgrößen (wie Verschuldung und Vermögen) enthalten sind. Der Themenfokus der HFCS-Erhebung wird von keiner Erhebung in Österreich abgedeckt. Obschon unterschiedliche Einkommensarten von der EU-SILC-Erhebung erfasst werden, fehlen hier Informationen zu den Verbindlichkeiten und zum Vermögen. Des Weiteren werden im HFCS im Gegensatz zur SHARE-Erhebung, welche sich auf die ältere Population bezieht, alle Haushalte in Österreich in die Erhebung miteinbezogen. Somit ermöglichen die Informationen des HFCS in Österreich die komplette Haushaltsbilanz und das Netto-Vermögen zu untersuchen.