Information for Interviewers

All interviewers were specially trained to conduct the interviews with the random sample of households selected for the HFCS. Together with the survey company, the OeNB’s HFCS experts ran five separate training workshops for interviewers, two in Vienna plus another three workshops in different parts of Austria.

The purpose of the workshops was to make the interviewers, who were all experienced interviewers, familiar with the key characteristics of the HFCS survey to ensure its success. In addition, the interviewers were given supporting documentation to read up on the topic and as reference material for the interviews.

They received:

  • A Catalogue of show cards (available in German only) to be used during the interviews, to provide respondents with a list of possible response options for selected questions;
  • A glossary that defined the technical terms used in the questionnaire in plain German, both in alphabetical order (available in German only) and mirroring the questionnaire’s structure (available in German only);
  • The paper “Housing Wealth of Austrian Households” (by Fessler, Mooslechner, Schürz and Wagner, published in Monetary Policy & the Economy Q2/09), as an example of how survey information is used for the purpose of analysis.

For detailed information on the interviewers who conducted the first wave of the HFCS in Austria, see "Interviewers – methodological notes".

Unterlagen für Interviewer

Alle Interviewer, die ihm Rahmen des HFCS Interviews mit den zufällig ausgewählten Haushalten durchführten, wurden speziell für den HFCS geschult. Diese Schulungen fanden in Zusammenarbeit der OeNB und des IFES in insgesamt sechs eintägigen Veranstaltungen in Wien (zweimal), Graz, Linz, Innsbruck und Zams statt.
Bei diesen Veranstaltungen wurden die wichtigen Besonderheiten der Erhebung genau erläutert, um den bereits erfahrenen Interviewern zusätzlich eine gute Grundlage für die Durchführung erfolgreicher Interviews zu geben. Zusätzlich wurden diverse Unterlagen an die die Interviewer verteilt, die zu deren Vorbereitung und als Informationsquellen während der Erhebung dienten.

Dazu zählen:

  • Das Kartenbuch, das während der Interviews eingesetzt wird, um die Listen an Auswahlmöglichkeiten bei verschiedenen Fragen des Fragebogens den Respondenten vorzulegen;
  • Das Glossar in alphabetischer und inhaltlich sortierter Reihenfolge, das einfache Erklärungen zu den verschiedenen Fachbegriffen, die im Fragebogen verwendet werden, enthält;
  • Die Studie „Household Finance and Consumption Survey des Eurosystems 2010: Erste Ergebnisse für Österreich“ (Fessler, Mooslechner, Schürz, in: Geldpolitik und Wirtschaft Q3/12), die ein Beispiel für die Verwendung derartiger Daten zu Analysezwecken darstellt.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Thema Interviewer des HFCS in Österreich sind in den „Methodischen Grundlagen" veröffentlicht.